top of page

Fair Housing and Equal Opportunity


We believe that all people seeking to rent a home should have housing opportunity and choice without discrimination or other limitations based on race, color, religion, sex, disability, familial status, national origin, creed, sexual or affectional orientation, ancestry, marital status, receipt of public assistance, or age.


Everyone deserves the right to expect equal professional service, the opportunity to view all available housing openings for which one qualifies, no limitations on communities or locations of housing, no discrimination in pricing or lease terms, reasonable accommodations in rules, practices, and procedures for persons with disabilities, and an environment free from harassment and intimidation.

Fair Housing


It is illegal to discriminate in the sale or rental of housing, including against individuals seeking a mortgage or housing assistance, or in other housing-related activities. The Fair Housing Act prohibits this discrimination because of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, familial status, and disability. A variety of other federal civil rights laws, including Title VI of the Civil Rights Act, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act, and the Americans with Disabilities Act, prohibit discrimination in housing and community development programs and activities, particularly those that are assisted with HUD funding.


Learn more about the Fair Housing Act, here.

The mission of the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development's Office of Fair Housing and Equal Opportunity (FHEO) is to eliminate housing discrimination, promote economic opportunity, and achieve diverse, inclusive communities by leading the nation in the enforcement, administration, development, and public understanding of federal fair housing policies and laws. The laws implemented and enforced by FHEO include:

  • The Fair Housing Act

  • Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964

  • Section 109 of the Housing and Community Development Act of 1974

  • Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973

  • Titles II and III of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990

  • The Architectural Barriers Act of 1968

  • The Age Discrimination Act of 1975

  • Title IX of the Education Amendments Act of 1972

  • Section 3 of the Housing and Urban Development Act of 1968

Learn more about the FHEO, here.

bottom of page